List of G20 Member Countries

The Group of Twenty (G20) is the premier forum for its members’ international economic cooperation and decision-making. Its membership comprises 19 countries plus the European Union. Each G20 president invites several guest countries each year.

The G20 started in 1999 as a meeting of Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors in the aftermath of the Asian financial crisis. In 2008, the first G20 Leaders’ Summit was held, and the group played a key role in responding to the global financial crisis. Its decisive and coordinated actions boosted consumer and business confidence and supported the first stages of economic recovery.

The members of the G20 are:

  1. Argentina
  2. Australia
  3. Brazil
  4. Canada
  5. China
  6. France
  7. Germany
  8. India
  9. Indonesia
  10. Italy
  11. Japan
  12. Republic of Korea
  13. Mexico
  14. Russia
  15. Saudi Arabia
  16. South Africa
  17. Turkey
  18. United Kingdom
  19. United States
  20. European Union

Five engagement groups to facilitate G20’s work

Business 20 (B20)
Civil Society 20 (C20)
Labour 20 (L20)
Think 20 (T20)
Youth 20 (Y20)


Originally posted 2016-06-14 00:02:10.

1 Comment

Add a Comment
  1. Saudi Arabia should not be a member due to their treatment of dissidents involving torture.

    I believe that China and Russia & probably USA are using their veto power too much.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *